Law and Public Safety

Law and Public Safety

News from the
St. Louis County Police
7900 Forsyth - Saint Louis, MO 63105

Charlie A. Dooley
County Executive
Committed to Our Citizens
Through Neighborhood Policing
Colonel Jon M. Belmar
Chief of Police


St. Louis County Police Officer Chosen As D.A.R.E. Officer of the Year

Posted 1 years 265 days ago ago by News Editor

For Immediate Release


St. Louis County Police Officer Kathy Kelly has been chosen as the National 2012 DARE Officer of the Year. On Wednesday, July 25, 2012, Officer Kelly of the St. Louis County Police Patrol Ancillary Services Unit received the National DARE Officer of the Year Award at their annual conference and ceremony in Atlanta, Georgia. The award was presented by DARE America. St. Louis County Police Chief Tim Fitch was also present at the ceremony.

Officer Kelly joined the St. Louis County Police Department in 1985 and became a DARE Officer in 1991. She has been a St. Louis County Police DARE Officer for 21 years and was honored as the Missouri DARE Officer of the year in 2008. To become the National DARE Officer, she was chosen from among 50 candidates, one from each state. She was nominated by representatives from the Missouri and regional chapters of DARE and the Missouri Police Chiefs Association.

For additional information on any of these news releases, please contact the media relations staff:

Officer Brian Schellman
Sergeant Colby Dolly
Lieutenant John Blake

St. Louis County Police DepartmentCALEA Logo
7900 Forsyth Boulevard
St. Louis, MO 63105

Emergency Calls: Call 911
Non-Emergency Reporting / General Information: (314) 889-2341
TDD: (314) 889-2345